Risk Management Skills for Kansas Women in Agriculture

Program Description

K-State Research and Extension, recognizes the uncertainty that farmers and ranchers are experiencing due to fluctuating grain and input prices.  More than ever, risk management of the operation is critical to long-term sustainability.

This workshop series will teach principles of determining cost of production, developing a marketing plan, purchasing crop insurance, and participating in farm programs (ARC/PLC). Participants will work with a case farm to apply these topics to a real-world farming operation. The goal is for participants to acquire risk management skills they can apply directly to their own farming operations. Other special topics will include managing stress and being resilient in tough times, and communicating effectively with family members.

The program will be a combination of broadcasted keynote speakers, local speakers, and facilitators to assist in completing the hands-on activities.

An optional 5th session will cover similar risk management principles for beef cow/calf operations.

This program is just one example of K-State Extension’s commitment to diversity and inclusion.  While the program is designed to highlight women’s issues in agriculture, it is open to any participant without regard to sex.

For more information, contact Robin Reid, K-State Agricultural Economics at 785-532-0964 or LaVell Winsor, K-State Farm Analyst Program at 785-220-5451.


Program Schedule

**Note that times listed are in Central Time Zone.  For the Syracuse location, all session will start at 4:30 pm Mountain Time***

January 12th, 2022:
5:30 pm Dinner
6:00 pm Local networking activity
6:30 pm Enterprise Budget Presentation & Activity
8:30 pm Session ends

January 19th, 2022:

5:30 pm Dinner
6:00 pm Crop Insurance Presentation & Activity
8:00 pm Stress and Resiliency
8:30 pm Session ends

January 26th, 2022:
5:30 pm Dinner
6:00 pm Crop Marketing Presentation & Activity
8:00 pm Family Communication
8:30 pm Session ends

February 2nd, 2022:
5:30 pm Dinner
6:00 pm Farm Bill Programs Presentation & Activity
8:00 pm Special Speaker and Awards
8:30 pm Session ends

Optional Session #5-Beef Cow/Calf Risk Management

February 23rd, 2022:
5:30 pm Dinner
6:00 pm Cow/Calf Enterprise Budgeting & Activity
7:00 pm Cattle Marketing
7:45 pm Insurance Options
8:30 pm Session ends


Registration Information

This program will be run as a series, so each night will build upon the material from the previous sessions.  As such, participants will register for the entire 4-session series (session #5 optional).

$50.00 registration fee will cover all meals and all program materials if registered by Dec. 31st.

$75.00 registration fee after Dec. 31st

*local scholarships may be available

Add $10.00 if registering for 5th session with series or $15.00 for that session alone

 

Register for the series at: https://kstate.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_bHtbfGu2WLJBuui

First 500 participants to register will receive a free Grain Marketing Book!

 

VIEW BROCHURE

SITES AND CONTACT INFORMATION

BELOIT
First Bank of Beloit
101 E. Main St.

Blaire Todd
785-738-3597
blairet@ksu.edu

BURLINGTON
Coffee County Library
410 Juniatta St.

Darl Henson
620-364-5313
dhenson@ksu.edu

CLAY CENTER
PrairieLand Partners
1181 18th Rd.

Kelsey Hatesohl
785-325-2121
khatesohl@ksu.edu

COLBY
Thomas County Office Complex
350 S. Range Ave.

Emily Bennigsdorf
785-460-4582
ebennigsdorf@ksu.edu

COUNCIL GROVE
Morris County Courthouse Meeting Room 
501 W. Main

Shannon Spencer
620-767-5136
spspencer@ksu.edu

DODGE CITY
Ford County Fair Building
901 West Park Street

Andrea Burns
620-227-4542
aburns@ksu.edu

El DORADO
Butler County Community/4-H Building
200 N. Griffith

Charlene Miller
316-321-9660
cmmiller1@ksu.edu

EMPORIA
Lyon County Extension Office
2632 W Hwy 50

Brian Rees
620-341-3220
brees@ksu.edu

FORT SCOTT
Healthy Bourbon County Action Team
104 North National Ave.

Chad Guthrie
620-223-3720
cguthrie74@ksu.edu

GARDEN CITY
Finney County Fairgrounds
209 Lake Ave.

Renee Tuttle
620-272-3670
rtuttle@ksu.edu

GIRARD
Crawford County Extension Office
120 E. Buffalo St.

James Coover
620-724-8233
jcoover@ksu.edu

GRAINFIELD
Gove County Extension Office
230 Main Street

Kelsi Wertz
785-673-4805
kjwertz@ksu.edu

GREAT BEND
American Ag Credit
5634 10th St

Alicia Boor
620-793-1910
aboor@ksu.edu

HAYS
Extension Office Meeting Room
601 Main Street

Stacy Campbell
785-628-9430
scampbel@ksu.edu

HERINGTON
Herington Community Building
810 South Broadway

Hayley Whitehair
785-263-2001
hayleyw8@ksu.edu

INDEPENDENCE
Montgomery County Extension Office
410 Peter Pan Rd, Suite B

Adaven Scronce
620-331-2690
adaven@ksu.edu

IOLA
Southwind District Extension-Iola Office
1006 North State

Dale Lanham
620-625-8620
dlanham@ksu.edu

JENNINGS
Jennings Senior Center
133 S. Kansas Ave.

Alyssa Rippe-May
785-475-8121
alyssar@ksu.edu

KIOWA
 

 

Justin Goodno
620-886-3971
jgoodno@ksu.edu

LACROSSE
Walnut Creek Extension Office
702 Main

Jared Petersilie
785-222-2710
jaredp11@ksu.edu

LEAVENWORTH
Riverfront Community Center
123 South Esplanade

Tina Packard
913-364-5700
tpackard@ksu.edu

LEOTI
Wichita County Community Building
511 East M

Allen Baker
620-375-2724
abaker@ksu.edu

MANHATTAN
Riley County Public Works Facility
6215 Tuttle Creek Boulevard

Greg McClure
785-537-6350
gmcclure@ksu.edu

MCPHERSON
McPherson County Extension Office
600 W Woodside

Shad Marston
620-241-1523
smarston@ksu.edu

OLATHE
Johnson County Sunset Building
11811 S. Sunset Dirve, Suite 1500

Juju Wellemeyer
913-715-7000
juju.wellemeyer@jocogov.org

OTTAWA
Franklin County Annex-Commission Chambers
1418 South Main

Rebecca McFarland
785-229-3520
rmcfarla@ksu.edu

PAOLA
Marais des Cygnes Ext. District - Paola Office
913 N. Pearl St., Suite 1

Katelyn Barthol
913-294-4306
kbarth25@ksu.edu

SABETHA
Glacial Hills Business Resource Center
913 Dakota St.

Matthew Young
785-742-7871
mayoung@ksu.edu

SALINA
K-State Salina College Center
2310 Centennial Rd.

Cade Rensink
785-309-5850
crensink@ksu.edu

SMITH CENTER
Smith Center Courthouse-Basement Meeting Room
218 S. Grant

Sandra Wick
785-282-6823
swick@ksu.edu

ST. JOHN
Stafford County Extension Office
210 E Third Ave

Marty Gleason
620-659-2149
mgleason@ksu.edu

STOCKTON
Rooks County Fairgrounds, Harding Hall
918 S. Elm Street

Rachael Brooke
785-425-6851
rboyle@ksu.edu

SYRACUSE
Hamilton County Fairgrounds-4-H Building
806 S Main Street

Lora Horton
620-384-5225
ljhorton@ksu.edu

TOPEKA
Shawnee County Extension Office
1740 SW Western Ave.

Leroy Russell
785-232-0062
lrussell@ksu.edu

ULYSSES
Grant County Civic Center, South Room
1100 W. Patterson

Elizabeth Rogers
620-899-2053
emrogers@ksu.edu

WILSON
Wilson Senior Center
511 25th Street

Craig Dinkel
785-472-4442
cadinkel@ksu.edu


 

This material is based upon work supported by USDA/NIFA under Award Number 2018-70027-28586.

 

 

Dates & Location
Wednesday, January 12, 2022